Types of Pilgrimage

Types of Pilgrimage

The pilgrimage (hajj) is of three types:

  1. Tamattu‘,

  2. Ifrad and

  3. Qiran.

The latter two pilgrimages are mandatory upon the people of Mecca and those whose houses are within the 88 kilometers perimeter of the boundary of Mecca.

However, the hajj at-tamattu‘ is mandatory upon those live beyond the 88 kilometers of the boundary of Mecca, and they also have to do the ‘umrah at-tamattu‘ before doing the hajj.

It is this hajj at-tamattu‘ which is relevant to the majority of the Muslims and, therefore, my discussion is confined to it.

  Hajj at-Tamattu' 

Hajj at-tamattu‘ is composed of two rituals: the first one is known as al-‘umrah or ‘umrah at-tamattu‘ and the second one is known as al-hajj or hajj at-tamattu‘.

In hajj at-tamattu‘, it is necessary to do the ‘umrah before the hajj. This is what applies to the majority of pilgrims